Curried Brussel Sprouts

Background:

The past few months have K and I hooked to the eat real food movement. Slowly we have shifted from Canola oil to Coconut oil. Vegetable oil spread to butter. Sparing use of coconut to liberal use of coconut. Wheat to rice. 2/3rd cup of rice from 1 cup of rice per meal. The changes have been slow and incremental. As part of this renewed drive to cook more at home and use fresh ingredients, we have been loading up on veggie produce. So, this past weekend when we spied brussel sprouts, we grabbed a pack.

The bag languished in produce tray for almost a week before I picked up enough courage to cook it. Problem was I had no idea what to do with it. A quick look up on google threw up fantastic sounding baked versions of the sprouts. While it seemed appetizing, I did not want to deal with the oven in my morning rush. So I decided to make it they way I would make any other curry to go with arhar dal and rice.

Stuff you will need:

2 lb brussel sprouts – washed, outer layers removed and cut into 4 or 8 pieces depending on what size you would like.
1 potato washed, peeled and cut in strips.
Coconut oil – 2 tbsp
Mustard seeds 1 tsp
Cumin seeds 1 tsp
Turmeric 1/2 tsp
Masala 1 tsp (I use kitchen king masala)
Salt to taste
Red chilli powder/Sambar powder – 1 tbsp

How to make it?

In a shallow heavy bottomed pan kept on a medium-high stove, add the oil. Once it warms, add mustard and cumin. Wait for it to pop before adding turmeric and masala. Add potatoes and saute about a minute or two till the oil coats the tuber. Then add the cut brussel sprouts, add salt and red chilli powder or sambar powder. Mix well and cook on medium heat for about 8-10 minutes stirring occasionally. You can hear the vegetable sizzle and fry. The key is not to overcook the sprouts. Do not cover and cook either.

Serve warm with dal and rice or rotis and raitha.

Special notes:

I have not tried it yet but I feel replacing red chili powder with green chilies added to the tempering should work just as well. Some recipes advocate marking an X at the base of the sprout with a knife if you are cooking it whole.

One thought on “Curried Brussel Sprouts

  1. Hi Laksh,

    Not sure whether you would remember me or not! I have stopped reading or even typing the word blog for at least 3 years past from now. of-late when I am searching for some profiles named Giridharan, google threw your name and with an excitement to meet a well acquaintance through her words I went to your blog. You know what would have happened? So where are your posts now? as a book? If so where can I get to read or purchase? Let me know. Hope you, K, Kay and Cee are all well. It feels nice to say hi to you.

    Regards,
    Deepa.P

Leave a Reply

