Kaju Kathli – Cashew, Sugar, Saffron, Cardamom combined to make a flavorful cake

Background:

With Deepavali tomorrow, for the first time in seven years, I gave into the urge to make something sweet. Considering both K and I enjoy cashews a lot, it only made sense for me to make Kaju Kathli or Cashew Cake. After scouring the Internet for recipes that ranged from powdering the cashews and boiling it in a mix of sugar and water to grinding the cashew in milk and then boiling it in sugar syrup I decided to follow whatever seemed to make life easier for me. Even if I say so myself, I was proud I was able to make squares out of it.

Stuff you will need:

Cashews – Powdered – 1 cup
Sugar – 1/2 – 3/4 cup depending on taste
Water – 3/4 cup
Milk – 3 tbsp
Saffron – a few strands
Cardamom – 5 shelled and pounded
Ghee – 2 tsp to grease plate

How to make it?

Grind the cashew using a spice grinder into a fine powder till it makes about one cup. Set aside. In a shallow non stick pan, heat water and add the milk. When it starts bubbling, add the saffron strands and stir in the sugar. When the sugar syrup starts foaming and bubbling, add the cashew powder taking care to stir it in without forming lumps. On a medium heat, stir this mixture till it starts forming powdery trails around the outer edge and you can stir it without the mixture sticking to the bottom of the pan. At this point, mix the cardamom powder in and remove from heat.

On a greased plate, pour this mixture in and pat till it is of even thickness. Allow it to cool slightly before making squares or diamonds. When cool, separate and store in an air tight container.

Makes 30 pieces

Special Notes:

I used 3/4 cup sugar and thought it was too sugary for my taste. The next time I try this, I will definitely reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup. I am not sure if the high sugar content was what helped it become cake like instead of halwa. I highly recommend adjusting the sugar content to please individual palates.

Coating with silver varki is optional. I do not do it as I am not a big fan of varki.

5 thoughts on “Kaju Kathli – Cashew, Sugar, Saffron, Cardamom combined to make a flavorful cake

  1. Pingback: Holiday Spirit? | Musings

  2. A’s favorite diamond sweet (Katlis) 🙂 Will try your version out 😀 They look yummy and A here is asking me for those immediately!! Care to pass some one here 😉

Leave a Reply

