Homemade Thayir, Dahi, Curds or Yogurt in colder climes

Background:

As a new bride I struggled to make thayir like amma made. I tried to emulate what I had seen her do with drastically different results. Over the years, talking to old hands at this, I have discovered a way that makes my thayir almost as good as hers. This applies to colder climes.

Stuff you will need:

2% Milk – 1 liter
Left over thayir – 1 tbsp

How to make it?

Boil milk till it really is ready to boil over. Remove from heat and let cool till you can put your hands around the vessel and hold it there for 10 secs. At this point stir in the thayir. Close the vessel. If you are doing this overnight, let the microwave run for about a minute or two empty. When done, move the vessel containing the milk and close. Leave undisturbed for about 8 hours. Thayir is ready.

Serves four

Special notes:

I have experimented with putting it in the oven and leaving the oven light on, the thayir sets no doubt but becomes sour quick.

12 thoughts on “Homemade Thayir, Dahi, Curds or Yogurt in colder climes

  1. hey this I am gonna try, question though, can I use the regular yoghurt(from a can), for the tablespoon of’ left over’ curd? Or would I require home-made yoghurt? And you mentioned colder climes, so in summer -do you just leave it outside?

  2. UL: Using yogurt from a can will cause the curds to become stringy. You are better of using leftover home made curds. I can give you some. Let me know when M is at work next and I will send some over. Another good option is to swipe some off your next trip to devi or any desi restaurants. They usually have good seed yogurt 🙂

  3. Thank you Laksh, I thought I had replied to this, perhaps not…yes, will warn you in advance when I am ready to make home-make yoghurt and then perhaps I can get a sample from you…but not any time soon…

  4. Laksh, I passed on this recipe to a friend of mine, who was looking into making youghurt at home , hope you wont mind – here’s his link –

    w7

  5. Pingback: Morkuzhambu - Buttermilk gravy spiced with coconut and cumin | A Reluctant Chef

  6. Pingback: You don’t miss what you don’t have! « Musings

  7. Pingback: Of wire baskets and steel boxes « Musings

Leave a Reply

