Eggless Dates and Walnut cake – Flavorful and nutritious

Background:

I bake this cake whenever I am in the mood for a bread like cake that goes well with chai/coffee or as an evening snack or even may be as breakfast. I got this recipe from my friend Akay who I believe in turn got it from another friend who in turn got it off Aayi’s recipe blog. I have tailored it to suit my tastes and is usually a hit whenever I take it to a party. Since it is egg-less, it is appealing to sworn vegetarians 🙂

Stuff you will need:

Dates 20 – 20
Milk 3/4 cup (I used 2% milk)
Sugar 1/2 cup
All purpose flour (Maida or wheat flour) 1 cup ( I have tried it with atta and it does come out well)
Oil 1/2 cup (I used canola oil)
Baking soda 1 tsp
Walnuts 1-2 handfuls broken

How to make it?

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Warm milk for a minute in the microwave. Soak the dates in milk while prepping other ingredients like breaking walnuts or measuring out flour. Mix the baking soda with flour. Grind milk, dates well in a mixer. In a mixing bowl combine oil, sugar, the date milk mixture well. Slowly add flour and baking powder mix into the wet ingredients ensuring no lumps and an even batter. If the batter is too tight loosen with little warm milk. Once done fold in the nuts and pour into a greased baking pan and bake at 350 for 40 -45 minutes or till a knife inserted comes out clean.

Remove from over and cool before cutting into slices. Serve warm with tea or coffee.

Serves five.

Special Notes:

Experiment with adding cinnamon or cardamom or even vanilla. Add a handful of raisins for a different taste and texture.

9 thoughts on “Eggless Dates and Walnut cake – Flavorful and nutritious

  1. Oh its really, really yum…I ate it until it was gone! Even scraped the crumbs! Thanks for the recipe was going to ask for it.

  2. @Arch: Thanks a ton da. Will attribute the recipe to the proper source. Will try the applesauce idea and keep you posted. Its a hit whenever I bake it.

  3. Pingback: A potpourri of thoughts « Unsaved

Leave a Reply

