Baked, curried roasted potatoes – desi style

Background:

I had friends over for lunch today and I usually make potatoes in addition to a ‘green’ vegetable. Normally, I pan roast the potatoes after steaming them in the pressure cooker. It usually is a hit or miss. Over the years I have watched others bake the potatoes to perfection and have always felt it was beyond me. Today however, I was in a mood to experiment. So I oven roasted potatoes and made kheer using the crock-pot both of which turned out well. Here is the recipe for the potatoes.

Stuff you will need:

10 small baking potatoes – washed, peeled, cubed (feel free to experiment with red bliss potatoes. A friend of mine swears by them)
Sambar powder/Red chilli powder – 2 tsp
Turmeric – 1/2 tsp
Salt – to taste
Olive oil/Ghee – 3 tsp (I used a mix of both)
Curry leaves 1 sprig  – chopped
Asafoetida – 1/2 tsp

How to make it?

In a mixing bowl mix all ingredients so that the potatoes are well coated. Let it sit for 5 – 10 minutes while the oven is preheated to 475 F. In a baking pan spread the potatoes so they are one layer thick and bake it at 475 F for 30 – 40  mins. Stir and put it back in and broil for 15 minutes. Turn over once so it roasts evenly.

Remove to a serving bowl and serve with rice and sambar.

Serves four

Special Notes

I experimented with the heat settings and found this worked well today. Over time if I feel different temp setting yield better results, will update this post.

Leave a Reply

