Spinach – good for PopEye and for me!

Background:

Don’t really remember amma making too much of Keerai but once I started cooking, keerai or spinach is my last resort of sorts. If I have no other vegetable or if am in a rush then I make this. My fridge always boasts of 2 – 3 packs of cut frozen spinach.

Today was one such day when I woke up late and did not have time to mull other options. Here is what I do.

Stuff you will need:

1 pack cut frozen spinach
1/4 coconut shredded
3 dry red chillies
2 tsp cumin seeds/jeera
Salt to taste
Asafoetida
1tsp Turmeric
Oil for tempering
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dhal
Thuvar dhal 1/2 cup

How to make it?

Boil about 2 cups of water, add pack of frozen spinach, a dash of turmeric, asafoetida and salt to taste. Let it cook on low medium heat till spinach looks done. While this is cooking boil about the thuvar dhal in the pressure cooker. Grind a handful of coconut, cumin seeds and 2-3 dry red chillies with little added water to make a smooth paste.

When spinach is done, add the paste, mashed thuvar dhal and let simmer for 5 minutes. Season with mustard and urad dhal tempered in oil.

Serves two

Special Notes:

This is usually served with Kuzhambu or Rasam.

3 thoughts on “Spinach – good for PopEye and for me!

  1. Hey…the new look is nice, though I had really liked the old look too, it kind of went well with the ‘reluctant chef’ theme…I hope you bring it back one of these days. As for my comments getting spammed, wordpress does that to me whenever I comment from work, no issues when i do it from home..!

  2. @UL: I loved the old one too specially that girl’s attitude but reading the posts was hard on the eye. So I traded in attitude for practicality 🙂 Will try and see if I can customize the header to represent some of my attitude on here. That will be a project though and might take a long time 🙂

  3. It took me a while to learn to love spinach, but now I really do. And as Popeye knew, it’s packed with good, healthy stuff. Here’s a quick way to cook fresh spinach and have something really tasty. In a large pot with a lid, sauté some minced garlic in a mixture of olive oil and butter over medium-low heat for just a minute or so, until the garlic is fragrant. Pour in an entire bag of baby spinach leaves and stir to coat. Cover the pot and let the spinach wilt and cook down—it will reduce greatly in volume—stirring occasionally, for about two or three minutes. Season with salt. Done! You now have two or three servings of sautéed spinach, delicious and healthy.

Leave a Reply

