Pulav – no onions nor garlic

Background:

Being married to a person who does not particularly relish garlic and overt presence of onions, I have over the years learned to make foods that I enjoy tailored to accommodate the significant other.

So today I as I made Pulav it occurred to me that I might as well jot it down for reference later.

Stuff you will need:

2 cups white Basmati rice
1 carrot – cubed
Green peas  – a handful
Green beans – a handful french cut into 1″ bits
1 inch cube of ginger shredded
Green chillies – 1-2 slit and sliced
Coriander leaves – washed, minced  to garnish
Ghee 1 tbsp
Cumin seeds/Jeera – 2 tsp
Cinnamon – 1/2 stick powdered
Cardomom – 5 peeled and powdered
Cloves – 5 powdered

How to make it?

In a wok heat a generous tablespoon of ghee. Just as it heats throw in the cumin seeds and the ground mixture of cinnamon, cloves and cardamom. Add the rice and fry it just so it gets coated with the ghee. Add the cut veggies to this mix and turn it over a few times.

Remove the contents to a rice cooker and add 4.5 cups of water and salt to taste before letting it cook. Once done, fluff up the rice with a fork and garnish with fresh cut coriander.

Serves four

Special Notes:

To go with his heavenly smelling rice shred four pickling cucumbers, squeeze the water out, add a tsp each of sugar and salt and two tablespoons of thick fresh curds. Mix well and serve with pulav

7 thoughts on “Pulav – no onions nor garlic

  1. Will double check with Manu and get back to you, Laksh. Nothing planned as of now I think, Meera has had a bout of cold and cough, but is on the mend, will confirm after checking with Manu,thanks.

  2. Well, was happy to know that there are people other than me who don’t like Onion and Garlic. Being married to me since last 9 years, my wife now is an expert in making any north or south dish with No Onion and No Garlic. I am sure she will like to note this Paluv recepe.
    Thanks for publishing this. Let me know if you with to get some tips from my wife.
    -Jay Sastry-

  3. I love this onion-garlic free version….have you ever tried it with some hot desi style tomato soup??
    it is divine!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

